22/02/2020 - 01/03/2020

@wbsc   #U18SoftballMWC  

Hosted by:   NZL

U-18 Men's Softball World Cup 2020 - Official Payoff

U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup: Argentina announces 16-athlete roster


World No. 2 Argentina announced their 16-athlete roster for the WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup, which will be held in Palmerston North, New Zealand, from 22 February to 1 March. The South American squad will battle in Group A and open against Singapore.

The two-time youth world champions (2012 and 2016), Argentina has finished in the top five in the last four editions of the U-19 World Championship, which is shifting to the U-18 category from this year.

“Our idea is to finish in the top positions to remain among the best teams in the world,” said Argentina’s Head Coach Rafael Salguero, speaking to the local press. “We’re very motivated to face this new challenge; our players have worked hard. Our expectations are very high.”

Two players on the roster have world championship experience. Lautaro Garcia and pitcher Franco Saenz were part of the team that finished in fifth place at the Junior Men’s Softball World Championship 2018 in Prince Albert.

Palmerston North ready to welcome the world
Host New Zealand names roster
Schedule revealed for new WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup 2020 in Palmerston North

Argentina will open the World Cup as the top-seeded team in Group A, along with No. 4 Canada, No. 5 Australia (defending world champions), No. 7 Czech Republic, No. 10 South Africa and No. 17 Singapore.

Argentina U-18 National Team roster:

  1. Becic, Andrés - OF
  2. Biondi, Luciano - C
  3. Brahin, Naim - IF
  4. Capdebosq, Eloy - OF
  5. Etchevers, Juan - IF
  6. Etchevers Matías - P
  7. Galarza, Lucas - OF
  8. García, Lautaro - OF
  9. Godoy, Franco - IF
  10. Herrera, Santiago - C
  11. Luna, Khalil - IF
  12. Mata, Valentín - P
  13. Pacheco, Cristian - P / OF
  14. Pintos, Ramiro - IF
  15. Reitober, Julián - OF
  16. Sáenz, Franco - P


  • Rafael Salguero - Head Coach
  • Ricardo Cargnel - Coach
  • Nicolas Jimenez - Coach
  • Pablo Segui - Coach
  • Ricardo Biondi - Kinesiologist
  • Fabian Medina - Team Leader