22/02/2020 - 01/03/2020

@wbsc   #U18SoftballMWC  

Hosted by:   NZL

U-18 Men's Softball World Cup 2020 - Official Payoff

U-18 Men's Softball World Cup: Host New Zealand names roster


Head coach Thomas Makea named New Zealand’s 16-player squad for the WBSC U18 Men’s Softball World Cup. New Zealand will host the tournament in Palmerston North from 22 February to 1 March.

Makea along with playing legends Jarrad Martin and Bevan Matene, has named an exciting young team looking to win the U-18 world title again after 31 years. The head coach said that the past 12 months and recent U-18 Nationals have given him and his staff a lot of confidence heading into the World Cup.

“We have set goals and observed these athletes over the past 12 months, which culminated at the just completed U-18 Nationals. They displayed their skills, and also a lot of enthusiasm, passion and intensity to their games, which is something that the management team was pleased to see," commented Makea. “We have selected a well-balanced squad with a lot of these players able to play multiple positions which helps in the make-up of the defence. The team will be working hard over the next few weeks so they are well prepared to take on the world.”

The U18 Men’s Softball World Cup opens on Saturday 22 February, with the hosts facing Japan, the silver medallists at the last Junior World Championship, played in Prince Albert, Canada, in the Summer of 2018. The final is scheduled for Sunday, 1 March.

World No. 3 New Zealand will play the opening round of the U-18 Men's Softball World Cup in Group B, along with No. 1 Japan, No. 6 USA, No. 8 Mexico, No. 11 Denmark and No. 21 Guatemala.

New Zealand roster

Oscar Clark
Ryan Earley
Liam Jardine-Ngauamo
Harrison Wildbore
Traye Wildbore

North Harbour
Levi Wilson
Te Kirika Cooper-Nicola

Hawkes Bay
Elijah Mataira
Kahurangi Beamsley-Allan

Hutt Valley
Jonathan Little
Caleb Taylor
Dallas Clifton

Dylan Jackson
Ciaran Bolger

Jacob Davidson

Brandon Bristowe

Non Travelling Reserves
Jayden McCabe-Priestly (Counties Manukau)
Hunter Simpson (Canterbury)
Kotiti Patea (Canterbury)
Jamieson Graham (North Harbour)