22/02/2020 - 01/03/2020

@wbsc   #U18SoftballMWC  

Hosted by:   NZL

U-18 Men's Softball World Cup 2020 - Official Payoff

Argentina, Canada, Guatemala, Mexico qualify for WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup in Palmerston North


After the first-ever U-17 Men’s Softball Pan American Championship four teams qualified for the WBSC U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup 2020, to be held in Palmerston North, New Zealand, from 22 February to 1 March. World No. 2 Canada, No. 5 Argentina, No. 9 Mexico and No. 15 Guatemala earned its spot in the newly created U-18 World Cup by finishing in the top four of the Pan American Championship, played in Guatemala.

Argentina, Belize, Canada, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama and USA played the historic first edition of the U-17 Men’s Softball Pan American Championship.

After the round robin, Canada and Mexico advanced to the Gold Medal Game, where pitcher Reese Yantzi was dominant limiting Mexico to only four hits. Joey Rousseau hit a go-ahead three-run inside-the-park homerun to provide the offence. Argentina defeated Guatemala in the Bronze Medal, by a score of 4-0. 

Canada has been present in every edition of the Junior Men’s Softball World Championship, replaced now by the U-18 World Cup. Champion in 1993, Canada finished in the fourth place last year in Prince Albert, as a host team.

For Argentina it will be its 12th appearance in the youth event. The South American nation won back to back titles in 2012 and 2014, and has finished in the top five in the last four editions.

Guatemala will play next year its second youth World Cup, after their historic debut last year in Prince Albert, Canada. The Central American nation finished in the 11th position, with a 2-6 record.

Mexico will play its 12nd youth Men’s Softball World Cup. They will try to win a medal for the second time in history: they won the bronze medal in 1981. In Prince Albert, Mexico made the playoffs, beat the Czech Republic 4-2 and then was eliminated by New Zealand, by a score of 8-0.

The four nations from the Americas join Czech Republic, Denmark, Austalia, Japan, Singapore and host New Zealand as the qualified teams for the 12-team U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup in Palmerston North.

Through the continental championships/qualifiers, the composition of the U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup is as follows:

  • Africa: One (1)
  • Asia: Two (2)
  • Americas: Four (4)
  • Europe: Two (2)
  • Oceania:  Two (2)
  • Wild Card: One (1)

FINAL STANDINGS – U-17 Men’s Softball Pan American Championship

  1. Canada
  2. Mexico
  3. Argentina
  4. Guatemala
  5. USA
  6. Panama
  7. Belize