07/07/2018 - 15/07/2018

@wbsc   #2018jrworlds  

Hosted by:   CAN

GameTime Classics Episode 14: Re-live the 2018 Junior Men’s Softball World Cup Final between Australia and Japan

GameTime Classics Episode 14: Re-live the 2018 Junior Men’s Softball World Cup Final between Australia and Japan
07/04/2020
The final was played on 15 July with Australia trying to clinch their fifth Junior Men’s Softball World Championship, and Japan looking for their third world title.

The 14th episode of WBSC's GameTime Classics series features another superb game: the Final of the 2018 WBSC Junior Men’s Softball World Championship between Australia and Japan. Prime Minister Park in Prince Albert, Canada, was the stage of this classic between two of the top men’s softball programmes in the world.

Both teams shared Group A (along with Argentina, Mexico, India, South Africa and Denmark) and faced off in the last game of the Opening Round. A solo homer by Japanese catcher Koki Sato in the top of the sixth was the difference to clinch a 3-2 victory over the Aussies.

Japan and Australia clashed again in the first semifinal of the page playoffs, and the green and gold team prevailed, 4-2, with a complete-game effort by Shaun Lanaghan and a pair of home runs off the bats of Blake Jackson and Jeremy Waters. Australia advanced to the final, while Japan had to beat New Zealand in the second semi-final to set up a third meeting between Japan and the Australians.

The final was played on 15 July 2018, with Australia trying to clinch their fifth Junior Men’s Softball World Championship, and Japan looking for their third world title.

This historic game will be aired for free at www.youtube.com/wbsc at 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time* on Tuesday, 7 April (3 am Central European Time*, 10 am Japan and 11 am Australia Time on Wednesday, 8 April) and Wednesday at 9 am Eastern Standard Time* (3:00 pm Central European Time*, 10:00 pm Japan and 11 pm Australia Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc. *Observing daylight saving time.

The next episode of the GameTime Classics series will feature the 2019 WBSC Premier12 Super Round game between Australia and USA.


Watch more GameTime Classics:

Episode 13: Watch Korea vs Panama in 2016 U-23 Baseball World Cup
Episode 12: Mexico, Canada battle to qualify for the Tokyo Olympic softball competition
Episode 11: Watch a semifinal thriller - Canada-Chinese Taipei at the Women's Baseball World Cup 2016
Episode 10: Historic first-ever WBSC U-12 Mixed Softball final between Chinese Taipei and Peru
Episode 9: Watch Korea vs Japan in 2015 Premier12 Semi-Final
Episode 8: Singapore, Argentina open 2020 U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup with a bang
Episode 7: Watch Chinese Taipei and Japan battle in the 2018 Women's Baseball World Cup
Episode 6: JPN vs USA dramatic 2019 U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup final
Episode 5: Re-live Mexico v USA 2019 U-12 Baseball World Cup elimination game
Episode 4: Mexico-New Zealand epic battle at WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship 2019
Episode 2: Re-live the Japan-USA Final of the 2018 WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship
Watch for free: WBSC Baseball, Softball World Cup blockbuster